HomeUpdateWhatsApp connected device functionality has been updated to address a sync issue

WhatsApp connected device functionality has been updated to address a sync issue

-

Last Updated on 08/12/2021 by Sunaina

When using WhatsApp on numerous devices, customers were allegedly encountering conversation synchronization troubles. According to reports, the flaw causes incorrectly synchronized communications between the multiple connected devices.

WhatsApp, the world’s most popular messaging app, is currently pushing out a security update for the problem, which eliminates the sync issue. It is apparently being handed out to WhatsApp beta users and will be activated automatically.

According to WABetaInfo, WhatsApp is releasing a new security update that improves the sync of a user’s WhatsApp chat across their mobile app and other associated devices, such as a laptop running WhatsApp Web or WhatsApp Desktop. The problem was that WhatsApp users’ discussions and media appeared differently on connected devices.

According to reports, the update is presently being handed out to WhatsApp beta users on iOS and Android. As part of the security upgrade, WhatsApp may automatically log out users who are experiencing this issue from their associated devices.

Users who are automatically logged out will receive the notice “Your devices were logged out due to an unexpected incident.” Please reconnect your gadgets.” This is thought to be a preventative step for the connected devices. Users may reconnect the devices by navigating to Settings > Linked devices and scanning the QR code provided.

Earlier this week, the messaging network controlled by Mark Zuckerberg revealed three additional time options for its vanishing messages function. The vanishing messages function, which was introduced earlier this year, only allowed for the automated deletion of a message or media after 7 days.

WhatsApp now offers three alternatives for users to select from: 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days. After any of the time limitations is selected, WhatsApp will erase the conversation or media history when the time limit expires. It’s also worth mentioning that enabling vanishing messages by default has no impact on current chats.

When users start a new conversation, they will get a notice message informing them that the vanishing messages functionality is enabled by default. Individual conversations can also be configured to disable the vanishing messages function.

WhatsApp’s vanishing messages function is comparable to Snapchat’s; however, unlike Snapchat, WhatsApp does not notify the sender if the recipient screenshots or transmits the messages or files.

Sunaina
Sunaina
A tech enthusiast, with a mission to report data breaches, fraudulent practices, dark pattern practices, and updates. She is also frequently fascinated by fintech and unicorns.
- Advertisment -

Must Read

DirectTV streaming network will sell your data even if you don’t...

0
DirectTV is a streaming network that delivers streaming content as a service. The content is generally live sports and 14.6M+ people subscribe to their...